September 19, 2019

Master Teacher Award

Master Teacher Award 2010
Elsevier, the world's leading health careers publisher, is pleased to team up with the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES), to present the sixth Master Teacher Award. 

The Master Teacher Award recognizes best practices in teaching in the allied health disciplines.  Examples of suitable best practices include, but are not limited to:
 Effective or unique teaching methods
 Successful practices for teaching special populations
 Effective integration of clinical experiences
 Unique use of multimedia and e-learning tools

One winning entry will be selected by representatives from Elsevier and ABHES.

The recipient of the Master Teacher Award 2010 will attend the National Conference on Allied Health Education in Las Vegas on February 10-12, 2010, as a guest* of Elsevier and ABHES and will present his or her winning practice to attendees during the Awards Ceremony.  In addition, the recipient will receive a $500 cash prize.

*Includes conference registration fee, airfare and hotel.

Eligibility Criteria
Full- or part-time teachers in health careers programs at ABHES-accredited schools are eligible for the Master Teacher Award.  Teachers may be nominated by the School Director, Director of Education, or Program Director.  By submitting a best practice idea, the school, administrator, and teacher agree to allow Elsevier and ABHES to publish the entries to share the practice with other health careers educators.

The winner agrees to attend the 2010 National Conference and present their winning practice to conference attendees as specified above.

Submission Guidelines
Entries should not exceed four pages of explanation and two pages of supplemental data (photos, charts, screen shots, PowerPoint slides, etc.).  Submissions should include the attached entry form plus descriptions of the following:
 Purpose of the practice
 Beneficiaries of the practice
 Results from implementation of the practice
*Limit of two entries per school

Entries must be received by November 2, 2009.  Submit entries electronically to:

Tricia Schroeder

The 2010 Master Teacher Award winner will be notified by December 1, 2009.  Other applicants will be contacted by December 30.

Questions?  Please contact Tricia Schroeder at or (314) 447-8427.

Please download the Master Teacher Award Guidelines and Entry Form below:

Master Teacher Award 2010 Guidelines and Entry Form